North County LGBTQ Resource Center, San Diego LGBT Community Center, San Diego Pride, PFLAG San Diego County, and The Gender Phluid Collective invite you to join us for a virtual rally in solidarity with Cori Schumacher on Saturday, April 24, 4-5 p.m.

Cori Schumacher (she/her/hers) is a world champion surfer who has used her athleticism as a springboard for activism and political engagement. During the early peak of her surfing career, Cori boycotted a World Longboard Tour to highlight human rights violations in countries on the tour, used her platform to highlight the drastic inequities in prize money between men and women champions, and led a high profile fight against the hyper sexualization of womens’ surf advertising against at top brand.

Elected to Carlsbad City Council in 2016, Cori was the first openly LGBTQ+ councilmember elected in north San Diego County. There, she has used her position to implement real solutions to remediate homelessness, spearhead a JPA for Community Choice Energy in Carlsbad and sister cities, and worked with her Assemblymember to implement prize equity in surfing competitions in California – the first of its kind, among other notable achievements.

In her time on City Council, Cori has centered transparency and government access, responsiveness to community needs and concerns, and principled policy stances. However, being a leader in this space has made her a target for misogynistic and homophobic attacks.

In the intense climate of the last few months, the attacks on Cori have escalated, and she has received extra bigoted anonymous emails and harassment online and in public forums.

We are standing in solidarity with Cori because representation matters, nobody should be alone when cowards attack, and we all need a reminder that we are siblings and need to stand together to continue to make society a safe place to live and lead.

Our featured guests include:

Congresswoman Sara Jacobs; Ret. Senator Christine T. Kehoe; Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins; Assemblymember Chris Ward; Mayor Todd Gloria; Council President Dr. Jen Campbell; Council President Pro Tem Stephen Whitburn; Councilmember Steve Padilla; Max Disposti (North County LGBTQ Center); Cara Dessert (The San Diego LGBT Center); Tiffany Gonzalez (PFLAG San Diego); Councilmember Marcus Bush; Wendy Schlater (La Jolla Band of Luiseño Indians); Ryan Trabuco; Angelle Maua (The Gender Phluid Collective); Fernando Z. López (San Diego Pride); Councilmember Corinna Contreras; and Nadia Kean-Ayub

Supporters include:

La Jolla Band of Luiseño Indians; Congresswoman Sara Jacobs; Congressman Mike Levin; Asm. Chris Ward; Asm. Tasha Boerner Horvath; Asm. Lorena Gonzalez; County Bd. of Supervisors Chair Nathan Fletcher; County Bd. of Supervisors Vice Chair Nora Vargas; Supervisor Terra Lawson-Remer; Mayor Todd Gloria; Mayor Catherine Blakespear; Council President Dr. Jen Campbell; Council President Pro Tem Stephen Whitburn; Councilmember Steve Padilla; Councilmember Marcus Bush; Councilmember Joe Mosca; Trustee Kate Bishop